Former SEC Baseball Players in Major League Baseball



Donaldson, the 2015 American League MVP, played for the tigers from 2005-2006

With the 2018 Major League Baseball season kicking off Thursday, check out the full list of former SEC players that are currently on Opening Day rosters and will be taking the field today:

Auburn University

Josh Donaldson, Toronto Blue Jays 3B

Grant Dayton, Atlanta Braves RP

Garrett Cooper, Miami Marlins 1B


University of Alabama

David Robertson, New York Yankees RP


Robertson, a 2011 All-Star and a Birmingham native, pitched for the Crimson Tide from 2005-2006.

Alex Avila, Arizona Diamondbacks C

Tommy Hunter, Philadelphia Phillies RP

Wade LaBlanc, Seattle Mariners RP

Adam Morgan, Philadelphia Phillies RP

Jimmy Nelson, Milwaukee Brewers SP


University of Arkansas

Dallas Keuchel, Houston Astros SP

Drew Smyly, Seattle Mariners SP (beginning season on DL)

Logan Forsythe, Los Angeles Dodgers 2B


Keuchel, the 2015 American League Cy Young Award winner and 2017 World Series Champion, pitched for the razorbacks from 2007-2009

James McCann, Detroit Tigers C

Andrew Beninetidi, Boston Red Sox 3B

Craig Gentry, Baltimore Orioles LF

Blake Parker, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim RP

Brian Anderson, Miami Marlins 3B


University of Florida

Anthony DeSclafani, Cincinnati Reds SP

O’Day, who was named to the American League All-Star team in 2015, pitched for the Gators from 2003-2006

Darren O’Day, Baltimore Orioles RP

Mike Zunino, Seattle Mariners C

Preston Tucker, Atlanta Braves LF

Austin Maddox, Boston Red Sox RP

Brian Johnson, Boston Red Sox SP


University of Georgia


Wood, a second round draft pick in the 2012 MLB draft, pitched for the bulldogs from 2010-2012

Alex Wood, Los Angeles Dodgers SP

Josh Fields, Kansas City Royals RP

Justin Grimm, Chicago Cubs RP

Kyle Farmer, Los Angeles Dodgers C



University of Kentucky

Jason Kipnis, Cleveland Indians 2B (transferred)


Kipnis, a two time all-star, played for the Wildcats from 2006-2007 before transferring to Arizona State

Trevor Gott, Washington Nationals RP

Luke Maile, Toronto Blue Jays C

Alex Meyer, Los Angeles Angels of Anehiem SP (beginning season on DL)

James Paxton, Seattle Mariners SP

Taylor Rogers, Minnesota Twins RP

Chris Rusin, Colorado Rockies RP

JT Riddle, Miami Marlins SS


Louisiana State University

DJ LeMahieu, Colorado Rockies 2B


LeMahieu, the 2016 National League batting champion, played for the tigers from 2008-2009

Alex Bregman, Houston Astros 3B

Kevin Gausman, Baltimore Orioles SP

Nick Goody, Cleveland Indians RP

Will Harris, Houston Astros RP

JaCoby Jones, Detroit Tigers CF

Mikie Mahtook, Detroit Tigers CF

Aaron Nola, Philadelphia Phillies SP

Jason Vargas, New York Mets SP (transferred)


Mississippi State University


Frazier played for the bulldogs from 2011-2013

Adam Frazier, Pittsburgh Pirates 2B

Chad Girodo, Toronto Blue Jays RP

Kendall Graveman, Oakland Athletics SP

Jonathan Holder, New York Yankees RP

Mitch Moreland, Boston Red Sox 1B

Hunter Renfroe, San Diego Padres RF

Chris Stratton, San Francisco Giants RP

Brandon Woodruff, Milwaukee Brewers SP


Cozart, a 2017 National League All-Star, played for the Rebels from 2005-2007

University of Mississippi

Drew Pomeranz, SP, Boston Red Sox (beginning season on DL)

Zach Cozart, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim SS

Lance Lynn, Minnesota Twins SP

Mike Mayers, St. Louis Cardinals RP

Anthony Alford, Toronto Blue Jays CF


University of Missouri

Scherzer, who won the American League Cy Young Award in 2013 and the National League Cy Young Award in 2016 and 2017, pitched for the tigers from 2004-2006

Max Scherzer, Washington Nationals SP

Ian Kinsler, Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim 2B

Kyle Gibson, Minnesota Twins SP


University of South Carolina

Jackie Bradley Jr, Boston Red Sox CF

Whit Merrifield, Kansas City Royals 2B

Lonnie Chisenhall, Cleveland Indians RF


Bradley, a 2016 American League all-star, played for the gamecocks from 2009-2010

Justin Smoak, Toronto Blue Jays 1B

Sam Dyson, San Francisco Giants RP

Lonnie Chisenhall, Cleveland Indians RF

Heath Hembree, Boston Red Sox RP

Steve Pearce, Toronto Blue Jays LB

Jordan Montgomery, New York Yankees SP


University of Tennessee

Headley, who was awarded the National League Silver Slugger Award in 2012, played for the Volunteers from 2004-2005 after transferring from Pacific University

Chase Headley, San Diego Padres 3B

Yan Gomes, Cleveland Indians C (transferred)

Zach Godley, Arizona Diamondbacks SP

Zack Godley, Arizona Diamondbacks SP

Drew Steckenrider, Miami Marlins RP


Texas A&M University

Michael Wacha, St. Louis Cardinals RP

Wacha, a 2015 National League All-Star, pitched for the Aggies from 2010-2012

A.J. Minter, Atlanta Braves SP

Daniel Mengden, Oakland Athletics SP

Tyler Naquin, Cleveland Indians CF

Ross Stripling, Los Angeles Dodgers RP

Alex Wilson, Detroit Tigers RP


Vanderbilt University

David Price, Boston Red Sox SP


Price, the 2012 American League Cy Young Award winner, pitched for the Commodores from 2005-2007

Dansby Swanson, Atlanta Braves SS

Sonny Gray, New York Yankees SP

Ryan Flaherty, Atlanta Braves 2B

Carson Fulmer, Chicago White Sox RP

Mike Minor, Texas Rangers SP

Drew VerHagen, Detroit Tigers RP