The SEC and the World Series Champions

The Boston Red Sox are 2018 World Series Champions. A consistent and at times dominant season-long performance culminated by a playoff run that was equally if not more impressive than the regular season was the cherry on top.

The Sox lost only one game in each playoff series, routed its biggest rival, the New York Yankees, and wrapped up the season in Los Angeles with their fourth World Series title in fifteen years.

It was the second consecutive season that the Dodgers have watched an opposing team become champions on their home turf. The pinnacle of World Series excitement came during Boston’s only loss of the series — game 3 — when the Dodgers won an 18-inning marathon.

David Price, a Vanderbilt product, long chastised for poorly handling playoff pressure, was excellent in the sport’s finale. His arm helped guide the Sox to their first title since, hold your breath, 2013. At the turn of the century, the Red Sox were considered a cursed franchise. A decade and a half later, after their 2004 World Series win, their first since 1918, the Sox are enjoying a dominant run in which they have won a World Series in all four U.S. time zones.

Meanwhile, the Southeastern Conference, known as the best conference in college baseball, was unsurprisingly well represented by the World Series champs and were once key cogs on SEC teams.

• David Price, SP — Vanderbilt
• Ian Kinsler, 2B — Missouri
• Mitch Moreland, 1B — Mississippi State
• Steve Pearce, 1B — South Carolina
• Andrew Benintendi, OF — Arkansas
• Jackie Bradley Jr., OF, South Carolina
• Drew Pomeranz, P — Ole Miss
• Chandler Shepherd, RP — Kentucky
• Bobby Poyner, RP — Florida
• Austin Maddox, RP — Florida
• Brian Johnson, RP — Florida

Congratulations to the 2018 Boston Red Sox and the former SEC players who worked tirelessly to win a championship – a moment they will never forget.